# AREA AND OPERATOR CODES

This leaflet described the area codes used in the various publications of The PSV Circle.

### **Current area codes**

The following area codes are to be used in News Sheets and G-lists to describe the locations of operators, even where the location was in a different area at the time the events described occurred, e.g. Bournemouth is code (DT) even though Bournemouth was in Hampshire prior to 1974. The code is shown in brackets after the operator title.

All county areas include unitary authorities within or largely within the relevant county council area. The codes do not relate directly to the current administrative counties.

- BD Bedfordshire BE Berkshire
- BK Buckinghamshire
- CA Cumbria
- CC South Central Wales (Bridgend, Cardiff, Neath and Port Talbot, Rhondda Cynon Taff, Vale of Glamorgan)
- CD Cleveland
- CH Cheshire
- CI Channel Islands
- CM Cambridgeshire
- CN North Wales (Aberconwy and Colwyn, Gwynedd, Denbighshire, Flintshire, Wrexham, Ynys Mon).
- CO Cornwall
- CS South East Wales (Blaenau Gwent, Caerphilly, Merthyr Tydfil, Monmouthshire, Newport, Torfaen)
- CW Mid and West Wales (Cymru) (Cardiganshire, Carmarthenshire, Pembrokeshire, Powys, Swansea).
- DE Derbyshire
- DM Durham
- DN Devon
- DT Dorset
- El Republic of Ireland
- ES East Sussex
- EX Essex
- EY East Yorkshire GL Gloucestershire
- GM Greater Manchester
- HA Hampshire
- HR Herefordshire
- HT Hertfordshire
- IM Isle of Man
- IS Isles of Scilly
- IW Isle of Wight
- KT Kent
- LA Lancashire

- LE Leicestershire and Rutland
- LI Lincolnshire
- LN Greater London
- MY Mersevside
- ND Northumberland
- NG Nottinghamshire
- NK Norfolk
- NO Northamptonshire
- NY North Yorkshire
- NI Northern Ireland
- OX Oxfordshire
- SE Scotland East (Angus, City of Dundee, Clackmannan, Falkirk, Fife, Perthshire and Kinross, Stirling)
- SH Shropshire
- SK Suffolk
- SN Scotland North (Aberdeenshire, City of Aberdeen, Highland, Moray, Orkney Islands, Shetland Islands, Western Isles)
- SO Somerset
- SR Surrey
- SS Scotland South (City of Edinburgh, East Lothian, Mid Lothian, The Borders, West Lothian)
- ST Staffordshire
- SW Scotland West (Argyll and Bute, City of Glasgow, Dumfries and Galloway, Dunbarton and Clydebank, East Dunbartonshire, East Lanarkshire, East Renfrewshire, Inverclyde, North Ayrshire, North Lanarkshire, Renfrewshire, South Ayrshire, South Lanarkshire)
- SY South Yorkshire
- TW Tyne & Wear
- WI Wiltshire
- WK Warwickshire
- WM West Midlands
- WO Worcestershire
- WS West Sussex WY West Yorkshire

#### **Obsolete Area Codes**

The following codes are no longer in use, but will be found in older publications:

- AV Avon (now in GL)
- BR Borders Region (now in SS)
- CE Central Region (now in SE)
- CL Clywd (now in CN)
- DD Dyfed (now in CW)
- DG Dumfries & Galloway Region (now in SW)
- FE Fife Region (now in SE)
- GD Gwynedd (now in CN)
- GN Grampian Region (now in SN)
- GT Gwent (now in CS)
- HE Humberside (now in EY and LI)
- HI Highlands Region (now in SN)
- HW Hereford and Worcester (now shown separately as HR and WO)
- LO Lothian Region (now in SS)
- MG Mid Glamorgan (now in CC and CS)

- OK Orkney & Shetland Isles (now in SN)
- PS Powys (now in CW)
- SC Strathclyde Region (now in SW) SG South Glamorgan (now in CC)
- TE Tayside Region (now in SE)
- WG West Glamorgan (now in CW and CC)

### **Traffic Area Codes**

The following are the official codes used by the Vehicle and Operator Services Agency and its predecessors. They now appear as part of the Operator Licence Number (OLN). These codes were formerly used in PSV Circle publications to indicate an operator's location, but the area codes above should now be used for this purpose.

- A North Eastern Traffic Area (no longer current)
- B North Eastern Traffic Area (formerly Yorkshire Traffic Area)
- C North Western Traffic Area
- D West Midlands Traffic Area
- E East Midlands Traffic Area (no longer current)
- F Eastern Traffic Area
- G South Wales Traffic Area
- H Western Traffic Area
- K South Eastern and Metropolitan Traffic Area (formerly South Eastern Traffic Area)
- L Scottish (Northern) Traffic Area (no longer current)
- M Scottish Traffic Area
- N Metropolitan Traffic Area (no longer current)

### **Operator Codes**

The following codes are used (in brackets after an operator title) to denote operators that are not PSV operators (i.e. do not hold an operator licence):

MoD Ministry of Defence contractor

O Overseas (not British Isles) operator (name of country to be included

as part of short title, e.g. Disneyland, Paris, France (O))

P Preservationist

Q Dealer RM Royal Mail S Showman

T Transporter owner
V Mobile caravan owner

W Owner of goods vehicle based on PSV chassis (e.g. horse box, mobile

library) including conversions of former PSVs.

X (alone) Government or national contractor (non-MoD)

X (followed by area code)

Non-PSV operator

Y National minibus operator

Y (followed by area code)

Minibus operator

## See leaflet 5Q for correct treatment of vehicles formerly used by the armed services.

It was decided some years ago that the code (Qs) to indicate a vehicle passing to a dealer for scrap should no longer be used. The code was discontinued because it did not distinguish between a vehicle which was known to have been scrapped and a vehicle passing to a dealer for scrapping at a later date.

The correct style is therefore one of the following, as appropriate:

Steptoe, Shepherds Bush (Q) 7/16 (where it is not known whether the vehicle was or will be scrapped or resold)

Steptoe, Shepherds Bush (Q) 7/16 for scrap (where the intention to scrap is known or obvious, but the vehicle is not confirmed as scrapped)

Steptoe, Shepherds Bush (Q) 7/16 and scrapped (where it is known that the vehicle has been scrapped – if the month of scrapping is not the same as the month the vehicle passed to the dealer, the scrapping date should be added when known, e.g. Steptoe, Shepherds Bush (Q) 7/16 and scrapped 9/16).